Never flown an RC plane before :)

Havak37

Brand new to RC planes
Hello I am brand new to RC planes.

I was a fan of the Tailspin cartoon and doing Youtube searches pipe dreaming about airplanes. I came across the FT Sea Duck. I instantly fell in love with it. Looks really sexy and fun to fly and speed boat. No need to suggest other planes cause the only reason I am getting into the hobby is to fly the Sea Duck irl hah. After adding up the cost to get everything to fly it I put the idea aside because of how much everything costs even though the plane only costs $46. Until my family asked me for Christmas present ideas. I usually say nothing when they ask me what I want for Christmas. This year I kinda "registered" with Flite Test hah. Said I needed a sea duck, power pack C (twin) and a transmitter, or just Flight Test gift cards.

I was glad to learn that top wing is the norm for "trainer" planes and in all the video's everyone says its really easy to fly. I will also be doing the FT newbie video series "run out a few batteries taxi'ing", then a few batteries doing lift and set it down in a straight line hah. I am from Oklahoma City so the only challenge will be it tends to be pretty windy here. But we have our calm days and that is when I will get it out. So pretty much why I ended up on the forums is I am just waiting for the mail man/Christmas day reading up as much as I can and watching as many video's as I can to limit the newbie mistakes I make.