New guy to RC. Looking to build some swappables.

Hi all, I am brand new to the flite test community. In the past few days I have browsed around the site and Youtube channel in an attempt to learn.

Let me get to the point. I am looking to build a swappable (not sure if that's really a word or not) power pod. I need some assistance in picking the electronics. I've looked through the list featured on this page but I am still very confused if all of those parts will go together. Basically I need help picking parts.

I understand this is really basic stuff, but any help would be appreciated since I am brand new to the hobby.

-Greg

(Sorry if this is posted to the wrong place)

Last edited:

engineer

Hey stealthattack, welcome to the forum!
Electronics can be very confusing at the start, that's true. I looked through that link and it looks like sort of beginner setup suggestions.
The basic parts you need to fly are a prop, motor, ESC (electronic speed controller), radio receiver, radio transmitter, battery and 2-4 servos.

With electric flight, the amount of electricity that is used is based on the prop and how fast it spins. A good beginner prop for flitetest designs is an 8" x4" slow fly prop. That is 8" diameter and 4" pitch. The recommended motor is somewhere between 1200 and 1450 kV using a 3 s battery. The kV stands for "thousands of revolutions per volt" and a battery of 3s rating has a voltage of 11.1 (3.7 v per 3 cells). The prop spinning at this speed will try to pull about 15 amps I think, so the ESC needs to be able to provide that and more, so aim for 20amp. Those are most critical, and many other pieces are interchangeable.

The parts go together like this: batter connects to ESC, ESC connects to bother motor and receiver, the receiver connects to all the servos. When battery connects, receiver is powered by the ESC and distributes power to all the servos and sends signal to motor and servos.