Next Multirotor?

Olektric

Hello, I am new around here, so any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

I have had a few years of experience with RC flying; airplanes, helicopters, RTF quads, etc. Over this past year (on and off), I have build a ~450mm quadcopter and fitted it with the FatShark Teleporter 3 kit to get into FPV. I am now getting comfortable with it and am learning to fly FPV (with a spotter). However, I am excited and ready to build my next multi rotor. I am between making a ~250mm racing quad or one of David's famous tri-copters. I would like to keep the build on the cheaper side, being $200-300 (hopefully including camera and VTX). The appeal of the quadcopter is the quick moving and exhilarating flying, while the appeal of the tricopter is the versatility and stability. For the racing quad, I was looking at the Argonaut 250/320 with an CC3D or Naze 32. (Note: I would prefer a build with an integrated PDB board)

Any thoughts, recommendations, advice?

Thanks in advance

narcolepticltd

I unbuild stuff regularly
My recommendation will probably not mesh well with what most are going to say here, but if you're wanting to go the 250 racer route, I'd definitely stick with what is considered quality rather than 'cheap' (at least on the frame/motors side of things).

Having a high quality carbon fiber frame will pay for itself both during the build, and every time you crash it -because it won't be a broken mess you have to replace-

Stick with a naze32 acro if you plan to run cleanflight as that will keep costs down on the board while still getting the quality you need (last thing you want to worry about is issues with your FC). Rotorgeeks has some excellent 12a speed controllers that are practically bullet proof and are also a decent price. I personally like cobra motors... get the 2204s and don't bother with the 1806s unless you have a racing club you plan to join that has restrictions to certain motors.