Noob dumb question

Bigtex1984

As it says im new to flying, I've run cars and trucks, electric, nitro, even custom built some of my own. My question is can I run my plane on a car lipo? I know it's heavier than the equivalent airplane lipo, but if I can keep the the cg correct for the plane theoretically it should be fine, correct?

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
Cool thanks for the reply, I'm figuring the thrust should be ok. It's a seaduck on 4s, but its a 5000mah hardpack.

Should be fine but make sure the C rating of that battery (which it should be) is high enough just to know you are on the safe side. Specially carrying extra weight as the motors and esc's will have to work harder.

Kugzenburg

It will work, just be aware of the cable that you're using, because if you're using a thin wire it may get really hot and catch a fire, rc planes usually pull a lot more current from the battery.

boogieloo

Why are you making one? RC car/airplane challenge on a video. Ramy's. It was made up of foam board. But carried the airplane in the air. They used two separate controls. One for the car, and one for the airplane. Two receivers, and one transmitter. But a separate RC for the car to run on grass. Then the airplane took off.

The neat thing about this was the lift of the airplane had to hold. More physics than anything. So he used the laws of physics to solve his problem. How much battery to use. I thought that was interesting. I liked the video. On the video though, the airplane rudders were connected to the car receivers. So the rudders didn't work well in the air. Drag coefficient and lift.

boogieloo