old timers

eyeFLYfome

im a designer by trade but not in rc planes. i think im going to start designing foam versions of the old style free flight old timers, most 3 channel stuff, but wit a few twists. im thinking less outright cabin styles( like the Long Cabin and Buzzard Bombshell) and with many mid wing low wing designs. a bit sportier looking but with plenty of dyhedral to keep to keep from needing ailerons. i got a few ideas already.

anyone else just like a very easy slow flying plane that isnt a cookie cutter trainer?

eyeFLYfome

i do not have the rudder, stab or elevator done, nor any of the fine measurements listed but this is the idea. i kinda took an old GeeBee idea and ran withit. got an old timer biplane.

Attachments

• GBOldTimer.jpg
    6.5 MB · Views: 1

TheFlyingBrit

Legendary member
I have been considering doing a classic conversion myself but keep putting it off because of space. I have an obsession with buying WW2 classic planes off my good friend, which means he has more space to build but I have less storage space.
I have thought about building either: The Super 60, Mercury Matador, The Majestic major or the Eaglet. Sadly, there isn't enough time in the day and the project keeps getting put off.
Good luck with your project I look forward to seeing the result.

FlyingTyger

Elite member
im a designer by trade but not in rc planes. i think im going to start designing foam versions of the old style free flight old timers, most 3 channel stuff, but wit a few twists. im thinking less outright cabin styles( like the Long Cabin and Buzzard Bombshell) and with many mid wing low wing designs. a bit sportier looking but with plenty of dyhedral to keep to keep from needing ailerons. i got a few ideas already.

anyone else just like a very easy slow flying plane that isnt a cookie cutter trainer?

I love the idea of bringing some of the vintage designs to life again in foam board.