RC newbie here with motor problem (FliteTest Power Pack C)

gpetty

I'm taking the plunge into RC airplanes with the FT Explorer + Power Pack C. Everything is great so far, but I'm running into an issue with the Emaxx GT2215/09 motor. Basically, everything else seems to work -- receiver, ESC, servos -- but the motor either does absolutely nothing or else beeps steadily (2 per second or so) whenever I try to run it from the transmitter. Actually, the last few times it doesn't even beep.

I don't know whether this implies a defect or something I'm doing wrong. Here's my setup:

BL Heli 30 amp ESC plugged into
Spektrum AR610 receiver (throttle port)
Lumenier 2250 battery (freshly charged)
Emaxx GT2215/09 motor

The above is bound with a Spektrum DX6i transmitter.

As I said, all the servos work in all the receiver ports, so the problem seems to be specific to the motor.

Please advise!

gpetty

And .. a followup: Now I'm trying to center the servos, and I'm not sure I'm doing this right. If my transmitter is centered (stick and trim), then the servo has more 'throw' in one direction than the other: about 20 deg. one way vs. 40 deg. in the other direction. I can balance the throw to 30 and 30 by running the trim all the way to one extreme, which doesn't seem like a good idea. Is there some way besides trim to center the neutral point between the two extremes?

Verris

Try calibrating the esc, remove the battery from the receiver, have your transmitter on and at full throttle. Now plug in your battery to your esc, you should get some kind of beep, then move your throttle all the way to the bottom. This will set your throttle range for the esc.

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
Hey Gpetty, welcome to the forum!