Slow flying mini speedster

gellings

This little plane was built because I needed something that I could fly after work without having to go all the way to the park. The goal was to fly slow. I am not an expert here and it wasn't ever very maneuverable but it did fly slow enough to fly around my small apartment complex (which was a blast!).

IMG_20151210_213645.jpg

You probably can't tell from the video but it flys about the speed of a brisk walk

As it says in the video, I removed as much foam and paper as possible to save on weight. It looks pretty fragile but it was so light and slow that it also didn't crash hard. I actually crashed it over and over until the prop started to brake before the foam board ever started to wear out.

I used a micro receiver from hobby king. It has an integrated receiver, brushed esc, and two linear servos. The battery is a 370 mAh cell that I had lying around. I also used a motor and prop from a little air hogs helicopter toy that I had. I was going to remove the stabilizer bar but never got around to it. I think it would have been much more maneuverable if I had removed it.

receiver

battery

motor and prop that I used

motor and prop that probably would work better

View attachment minispeedter.pdf the scale might be wrong, sorry. The rectangle should be a standard 20x30 inch foam board sheet

This was very much a first iteration so don't hate. If I built it again I would not remove as much foam from the fuselage and tail for stiffness (see the pdf). I would probably also add wheels and stuff for ascetics.

So here is my example slow flying foam board plane... I also hope Josh Bixler doesn't mind it being such a blatant rip off of his design.

pressalltheknobs

Posted a thousand or more times
Hey man that's really cool! Very nicely done. Have been thinking of doing something similar but haven't had the time. Great to see it working.