Spektrum Gear explanation for a newbie

Alienjohn

Guys and gals,
I'm new to electric flight - used to do gas planes (20 years ago) but recently bought a Horizon Carbon Cub that came with the No-Screen DXS transmitter. The plane does some programmed mixing on its own in Beginner and Intermediate modes (adds some rudder and elevator when ailerons used) which is nice. It also has dual rates via a switch on the transmitter. I like that too. However I have some questions because I intend to upgrade my transmitter to one that can store several models, some that won't be Spektrum Receiver equipped.

Q1: Is this "mixing and Dual-Rate" info stored (programmed) in the planes flight controller or in my DXS transmitter?

Q2: "IF" the programming is stored in the flight controller, and If I were to upgrade to say - the RadioMaster 16 channel, would the display on the new radio show me the mixing rates that are already programmed into it and allow me to adjust these rates?

Q3: If I bought the "RadioMaster TX16S" would all the Spektrum Flight Controllers with SAFE (and other features) still work as they do with my Spektrum Radio, allowing me to enjoy these features in the plane I already have, (Beginner/Intermediate/Advanced, Panic Button, etc) but still allow me to add different brands of planes that use different protocols and have them operate normally with the RadioMaster multi-Protocol radio?

I realize I am a newbie and possibly annoying to you more advanced flyers, but I want to enjoy the hobby without being tied down to Spektrum exclusively. Any advice would be appreciated.

I am told that if I simply upgrade to one of the better Spektrum Transmitters that are programmable, I will still be limited to Horizon products or at least those planes with Spektrum equipment in them. Is that a fact?

Thanks in advance all.
John in Ohio

flyingkelpie

Elite member
Q 1. In your Tx
Q 2. Yes you can adjust the rates in the Tx
Q 3. I don't know. I don't use Spektrum Tx's