Hello, new guy needs advice

Rezzinrezzin

Hi, I’m a newbie to fixed wing. I bought a striX stratosurfer and a ft simple cub. I’ve had a pretty tough time with both to say the least. They’re both pretty beat up but I finally got the stratosurfer flying, very precariously however....
All it has is a six channel fly sky receiver and a 45a esc. So I see now that there are stabilizers that I probably need! So my question is can I use the fly sky receiver and radio with the flute test aura 5 lite board? I also have a couple Frsky xm+ drone receivers and a radio for them. Would those work with that Board?
One more thing.....if I can fly then I would like to build and fpv system...I already have a full dji fpv sys on one of my drones(air unit/camera/goggles and controller). Can that set up even be used to control and airplane?

SNOW6CAT

I don‘t know much about the arura 5 lite, but I would recommend scratch building an easier to fly plane. If you start from a beginner plane then you can work your way up to something like a cub and not have to spend $50 for the board. And if you scratch build all the planes are basically free... Just swap your electronics.

Rezzinrezzin

I was under the impression that the flite test simple cub foam build WAS a good trainer for beginners.?. I’m not exactly sure what you mean by scratch build...
It came as a bunch of pre marked foam panels Which I had to cut out and assemble as well as mount servos for elevator(?) and rudder. The motor pod is a removable foam “box”(also had to be built) carrying the motor and esc and room for the battery. It can be removed and inserted into other f.t. models?
What then is a good plane to start with before moving up to the cub(3 channel) and then the stratosurfer(4 channel with ailerons)?

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
The ft cub is a good trainer plane, it’s normal to go through 2-3 planes learning to fly.