How to select the right servos for the job

socalrcpilot

I am relatively new to this hobby and im enjoying the heck out of it! I have found that there is a TON of stuff to learn but i cant seem to be able to find any good advice on servo selection ie:
Brand selection
proper size
metal vs carbon vs plastic gears
digital vs analog
etc.

Anyone around with some good info?? Maybe even a video from you or flitetest???

Mike oxbig

15% nitro is my cologne
Servo selection is a bit of a subjective thing. Ask 5 people what servos will work and you'll probably get 5 different answers.

On kits and arfs they tend to give a recommended size and torque so that makes it simple. A general rule of thumb is go with the fastest servo that you can afford that will deliver your rated torque. Torque is a necessity as too little will stall the servo out and not give you the performance you want. Speed is a luxury as it will increase your reaction time to inputs but going slower will not decrease the performance of the surface.

Plastic vs karbonite vs metal. This is really a personal preference. On planes up to 60 size I normally just run plastic. Plastic gears will break in a hard crash but I've found it rare. Generally on that kind of crash the damage to the airframe cost way more than a couple of bucks for gears. On the little guys I run hs 55 servos and the plasticgears are only $3.00. I have hs 55s from 5 years ago that have literally been on a half dozen planes and still work.

In my 450 helis I run karbonite hs 65s. Plastic geared servos were too weak and easily damaged. I ran metal geared ones before but in a hard crash I found that if the servo gear didn't strip the servo could burn out. Karbonite bridges the gap, I don't strip out on every light crash and I don't burn up servos. On my bigger helis the was only mg servos that offer the performance needed.

lobstermash

Propaganda machine
Mentor