Testing Explorer before maiden flight

gpetty

I have just about finished the FT Explorer -- my first RC build ever -- and am looking forward to taking it to the RC park for its maiden flight (and mine). Before I do, I'd like to know whether there's anything I can do to make sure there are no aerodynamic surprises before launching it. In particular, I built the 3-channel version, so I don't have aileron control to correct for any subtle twist in the wing that might send it rolling over into the ground as soon as it's released. And it does look to my eye like there might be a slightly higher angle of attack on one end than the other.

Maybe I'm overestimating the danger (again, I'm an RC newbie), but is there a simple way to verify that there is not any strong rolling moment short of actually risking a crash? I'm not worried about pitch and yaw, because those controls are clearly working well enough to correct for any imbalances. One approach that comes to mind is to launch it at the minimum power required to stay airborne so that the wing dihedral has a better chance of overcoming any rolling tendency.

If I do discover a tendency to roll in one direction, should I try to remove the twist? Or is it easier to create an aileron-like tab with fixed deflection on the trailing edge of one or both wings?

kdobson83

Do u have landing gear on it? I HATE maidens (lol) but landing gear makes it a little easier. Especially if u have a decent area to play with. Take it to a highschool parking lot if u have landing gear and put around on the ground. Try to get a few feet off the ground. If it seems good, then pull the trigger and take it to the park. Other wise, I say your only real option is to just have at it. I heard the 3 channel explorer is a lazy easy flyer.
Good luck and have fun. Building/repairing is half the fun. Post your results too!

Hai-Lee

Old and Bold RC PILOT