Advice for a new FPV Quadcopter User

Nightwalker

A little intro; I am in the UK and looking to get into using a FPV Quadcopter, I have just today received a Eachine 250 Racer with controller and screen from Singapore.

Backstory: So my first Quad was a small Hubsan X4 H107C which I have been flying for many months now and I would say I'm quite proficient with it and can manoeuvre it exactly how I want, I'm very confident with it. The Hubsan X4 is fairly small and cheap (~£45) but I think it is superb little model.

I'm interested in photography so I didn't hesitate to dismantle my Hubsan X4 and upgrade its camera by soldering in a new higher res camera-board from BangGood, so I'm not scared of a basic soldering job :) But the thought of building my own drone from scratch would probably be a little daunting for me. I have a GoPro 3 so I look forward to attaching it to my new Eachine Racer 250 and getting some HQ shots.

I don't have a lot of cash to spend but I've always wanted a bigger / better quadcopter; hence my most recent purchase (Eachine Racer 250 FPV with 2.4G I6 Controller 6CH Transmitter 7 Inch Monitor). Shipped into the UK from Singapore the full bundle + import-duty charges cost me around £240 which is the highest I could afford for a drone atm.

I liked the fact that it was pre-built and mostly ready to go. The instructions were very minimal and don't really tell you how to get started, I watched a few videos online about this model and it seem to be that everyone was using OpenPilot GCS to do an initial configuration and calibration before their first flight, I don't know if that was required but I kinda of assumed it might have been.

So I downloaded & installed OpenPilot and got the firmware re-flashed & calibration done.