Solved SOLVED: Major (Roll) Oscillations when arming quadcopter

samtkeen

I am fairly new to drone building and have been helped by my friend who has built drones before. I have built a fairly large drone which I want to use to film and coast, I don't intend to use it for racing of any type. I have also made some modifications in addition to the parts such as battery carrier, FPV camera mount and GoPro mount.

Summary of Issue
The issue I have is that as soon as I arm the drone, it immediately goes to full throttle even when it is below the minimum throttle threshold. This is guaranteed behaviour with airmode enabled, without it enabled it will run at minimum throttle (3%) but as soon as i reach mid throttle it will again oscillate and jump to max throttle immediately.

Troubleshooting
I have tried a variety of troubleshooting and trenched through the forums but not sure what is causing it.
  • All motors are rotating the correct direction
  • each motor can be spooled manually without issue in the motor tab using the sliders in betaflight or in BLHeli
  • all firmware is up to date, FC, Receiver, Radio, ESC.
  • FC is soft mounted (rubber anti-vibration offset screws)
  • A trial of motors also being soft mounted at one point (3M foam) but did not improve things.
  • FC and ESC protocols both on DSHOT
  • PID tuning attempted
  • All receiver channels are properly and correctly mapped
  • everything else (VTX, Rx, radio, etc...) all work as expected.
Attached Files
as you can see from the logs there are large unexpected oscillations in the Roll (Red) Gyro. This seems to be causing all the others to go out of whack. There are screenshots of the BLHeli and Betaflight configuration which are pretty much defaults. Also included are the betaflight logs (without props) unfortunately i didn't have the blackbox running when trying with props. I am now too terrified to test it with props as it chucks it immediately to max throttle!