Beginner - Multirotor vs Fixed wing/Plane

natodemon

Hi all,
I'm very new to the RC community and I need some advice. This question has probably been asked before but I couldn't find it with a search so here we go.

I am interested in joining the RC hobby, but I'm unsure whether to start with fixed wing aircraft or multirotors. My budget is limited so my first thoughts after some searching were to go with the cheaper to build plane, but after some more searching I feel that the mountainous, tree filled area I live in is not a good place to learn to fly a plane LoS. That's when I changed to looking into multirotors due to the much smaller space needed to fly them in, but they are apparently very hard to fly LoS and go much better with FPV - something that I am very much interested in, but it doesn't look cheap.

Living in Europe, especially a small Spanish island, things are hard to find and expensive to ship, so the two aircraft I have in mind are the FT versa wing and the rcexplorer Tricopter as I can scratch build them.

I apologise for the large post, but I thought it would be good to get all the information I can into one post to avoid repetition / time wasting.

Thank you in advance for any information

Natodemon

eagle4

hey mate, welcome to the forum and the hobby. be warned... it can get addictive ;)

obviously where you can fly can be a strong factor determining which route you should take. you can easily fly a versa wing inside a football field if you have access to one.

if you actually have no decent space to fly a plane then it really limits your options so a multi rotor would be the way to go.

as for being cheap, a plane will be significantly cheaper. i built myself a tricopter recently and purchased the cheapest equiptment i could, without battery and receiver it was still about $85. ontop of that you'd need a transmitter and battery too (dont forget the battery charger)