Help! First time RC build: help with parts

AirplaneGuy747

Hello everyone!

I am new to building RC planes and I need help with parts. For my first project, i'd like to build a glider with a movable elevator and rudder (no ailerons). What do I need? I have a controller, and I know I need 2 servos/servo horns.

What other fancy tech stuff do I need? (provide links if possible)

Thanks a lot!

sprzout

Knower of useless information
Mentor
Welcome, AirplaneGuy747!

So, let me ask a few questions to help you out:

1) What sort of controller do you have? Is it a Spektrum, FrSky, Futaba, etc? I'm assuming you do not have a receiver for that controller, and would need to get one that is compatible.

2) How are you planning on flying this glider? Are you going to throw it off the top of a hill/slope, and use the thermals/upcurrents to fly, or are you going to have a motor to power up to altitude and then shut off the throttle and glide?

3) I'm assuming you are going to build this out of foam board, like most of the plans here at FliteTest, correct? If so, I'd recommend going to get the plans for the FT Simple Soarer and build that. It should list on the plans what you would need to build that particular plane, with things such as an ESC, what battery is recommended, servos, control wiring, etc. I'm trying to think of everything off the top of my head, and I know I'm going to fail, hence why I'm recommending the plans as a good start - most of what you'll need is right on the front page. :)

Saravana

Hello everyone!

I am new to building RC planes and I need help with parts. For my first project, i'd like to build a glider with a movable elevator and rudder (no ailerons). What do I need? I have a controller, and I know I need 2 servos/servo horns.

What other fancy tech stuff do I need? (provide links if possible)

Thanks a lot!

Dear AirplaneGuy747,
Check with flite test videos in you tube, you will get ideas. Im also new to this.

Flying Monkey fab

Elite member