Frog Slingsby Skylark scratchbuild

GliderFlyer

Elite member
Here is my build thread for the 27” slingsby skylark tow line glider. The plans come from outerzone.co.uk. I was inspired by The build thread by speedbirdted’s thread Frog Junior Sailplane scratchbuild and wanted to build my own. I actually may build the junior sailplane, since I already cut out the ribs(before I discovered the Skylark plans) but the focus For this thread will be on the skylark. I am in short supply of silkspan too, so that could be a limiting factor.
. image.jpg
This is my building space, since the top of the desk is occupied by the Willy Nillies eaglet 250. image.jpg
Really basic balsa stripper. Works well enough for me.

Alright I’m going to start cutting out some pieces, the tail surfaces will be stick built to save weight. By the way, does anybody know how I can get this windshield done? I have no experience with vacuum forming, and am willing to learn, but only if there are not any easier methods for making round windshields.

image.jpg

speedbirdted

Legendary member
The windshield looks like a compound curve so there's no easy way to do it with a flat sheet without vacuum forming or doing something like it. If you have access to a 3D printer you could try using PVA and sandpaper or PVB/ABS with chemicals to get a very smooth windshield though it won't be nearly as transparent as something vacuum formed. Making a vacuum table isn't terribly hard actually; if you have a shop vac you can build a box out of wood and pegboard, seal it with epoxy and rubber tape, and make frames to stick somewhere where it gets hot, like an oven. Be careful though!

On something this tiny, you likely do not need silkspan. The ultra light Japanese stuff would work perfect. Or you could use doculam.

How does that balsa stripper work? Seems to me like trying to just slide pieces along the x-acto would be begging to get wonkily cut pieces with unintended bevelling. But if it works for you...

GliderFlyer